Daydreams About The Desert

The day was hot yesterday. Turns out, the heat makes me miss the Utah desert. I found my mind wandering into desert vistas. Hiking through awe inspiring sandstone formations and sun baked sand is where I wanted to be. The smell of sage and ponderosa pine surrounding my senses. Hiking until my legs shook and then hiking some more. A day dreamers paradise.

With the desert on my mind, today’s new featured Etsy listings include photographs of Arches National Park and Capital Reef National Park in Utah. Also, photographs of a textured leaf, a butterfly and a bromeliad (all taken recently while on some local Twin Cities walks and hikes).

bromeliad-2Bromeliad Fine Art Print

Print Sizes: 5×7, 8×10, 11×14

Medium: Macro Photography

Click Me To View Listing

Found this beautiful bromeliad at the Marjorie McNeely Conservatory in St. Paul, Minnesota. It made me smile when I first noticed it.


arches-devils-garden-5Devil’s Garden, Arches National Park, Fine Art Print

Print Sizes: 5×7, 8×10, 11×14

Medium: Digital Photography

Click Me To View Listing

Arches National Park is huge. On of my favorite hikes was in Devil’s Garden. Trails along the edges of towering sandstone rock formations make for some lovely views.


textured-leaf-6Textured Leaf Fine Art Print

Print Sizes: 5×7, 8×10, 11×14

Medium: Digital Photography

Click Me To View Listing

When walking around my Minneapolis, I often happen across gardens or cemeteries that I had no idea were there. This photo was taken recently in a garden a couple blocks from where I live.


capital-reef-treesCapital Reef National Park, Utah,  Fine Art Print

Print Sizes: 5×7, 8×10, 11×14

Medium: Digital Photography

Click Me To View Listing

Looking back, Capital Reef National Park remains my favorite of Utah’s national parks. Perhaps is was the smaller crowds. Perhaps it was the sun setting over Hickman Bridge. Perhaps it was the cave I happened across. Or… Perhaps it was the awesome creepy dead trees and volcanic black rocks. Yeah… the creepy dead trees…


butterflyButterfly Fine Art Print

Print Sizes: 5×7, 8×10, 11×14

Medium: Digital Photography

Click Me To View Listing

The Como Zoo in St. Paul converted the edible garden to a butterfly sanctuary this summer. I couldn’t be happier about this.

Leave a Reply

